by Maggie Reynolds, Kuna FFA Reporter

The Kuna FFA chapter had a national-winning team last week at the FFA National Convention! The Kuna Farm Business Management team spent two days participating in their Career Development Event (CDE) taking a three-hour test and doing a team activity. Every team member received the gold award as individuals. Teammates Mark Nebeker, Jeni Hagler (10th high individual overall) and Zack Reynolds (6th high individual) were awarded $1,000 scholarships while Josh Winger (1st High Individual!) was awarded a $1,500 scholarship. This is only the fourth national-winning Kuna FFA has ever had in its history.

Kuna sent three teams to the National FFA Convention. All three teams received the gold award in their CDE’s! The Parliamentary Procedure team was in the top twelve teams and advanced to the semi-finals in their event. They were required to take a test over parliamentary procedure knowledge and participated in two sessions. These sessions were ten minutes long and allowed the team to show their knowledge of parliamentary procedure by conducting a meeting and answering oral questions. This team consisted of Chris Ball, Anna Rodriguez, Kaisa Werner, Brynn Powell, Alyssa Shankel, and Scott Hukill.

The Kuna Agricultural Mechanics team placed 11th overall. Their CDE consisted of demonstrating their abilities to do things such as welding, wiring a breaker box, using a laser leveler, troubleshooting a tractor, and applying industrial skills in marketing. The team won two welding helmets and a welder for the Kuna Ag shop. The team had members Kevin Brown, Max Blitman (gold individual), Brett Berheim (gold individual), and Dylan Fadgen (gold individual and 21st high individual).

Congratulations to all of our teams!